Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Join
Cloke-Millen Peacemaker Award
Share |
Each year SCMA presents the Cloke-Millen Peacemaker Award to an individual or organization in the dispute resolution community who inspires us through their passion and dedication to peacemaking. The award is named in honor of two of SCMA’s founding members: Kenneth Cloke and Richard Millen.

Kenneth Cloke is a mediator, arbitrator, coach, consultant, and trainer, specializing in resolving complex multi-party disputes, including transnational, marital, divorce, family, grievance and workplace disputes, organizational, public policy, and school conflicts, and designing preventative conflict resolution systems. He has worked in over 25 countries and is the founder and first President of Mediators Beyond Borders. He has published 15 books on conflict resolution, recently The Crossroads of Conflict and Politics, Dialogue, and the Evolution of Democracy. His website is:

Richard Millen, who passed away in 2010, was a distinguished mediator and mediation trainer, who co-chaired the first conference of mediators in Southern California, which led to a second conference at which SCMA was born.

The Award winners are typically honored at our annual fall conference.

Past Recipients

  • 2019 – Leonard Riskin
  • 2018 – Avis Ridley-Thomas
  • 2017 – William Ury
  • 2016 – Senator George Mitchell
  • 2015 – Forest Whitaker
  • 2014 – Mike Feuer
  • 2013 – Seeds of Peace
  • 2012 – Kenneth R. Feinberg
  • 2011 – Father Greg Boyle
  • 2010 – Inmates of the Valley State Prison for Women
  • 2009 – Judge Helen Bendix and Judge Jane Johnson
  • 2008 – Honorable Dorothy Nelson
  • 2007 – Najeeba Syeed-Miller
  • 2006 – Daniel Shapiro


SCMA is a tax-exempt association
Formed as a 501 (c) (6)

Quick Links


Contact Us

SCMA Administration
21515 Hawthorne Blvd., Suite 200
Torrance, CA. 90503
Phone: 424-351-6471